Disturbed by a Picture, Disturbed by Recent History

Photo of the author of the big post after the occident in the park- an incident that is far from over.

Story about systematic racism faced by an African American woman in Germany. I’m linking it to here.

Quote that stood out to me:

Eventually, a friend with a lawyer-bro arrived on the scene and they gave me back my ID while she de-escalated the situation. They told my friend that they will write an internal report because “the public got involved. We will receive calls about this disturbance.” The report reads that I interrupted a kontrolle and refused to follow orders.

It will not talk about their aggressive manner. It will not talk about how just *picked* the only Black person in the park to harass. It will not talk about how the only thing, I, the Ausländerin, interrupted was them from inflicting humiliation on another human being. It will not say how they refused to give me any names or badge numbers so that I could file my own report.

The whole point of the ordeal was to “teach me a lesson”. To give me so much shit for standing up that I will think twice next time before “challenging” them. Or that it fucks me over and there is no next time for me to decide to stand up or keep my head low to survive.

Link:https://feminewbie.wordpress.com/2016/07/10/i-just-saw-this-picture-and-im-so-disturbed-because-its-me/

Leave a Reply

