10 Things NOT to Say When Someone Comes Out as Autistic — Anonymously Autistic

Coming out as Autistic is hard. So hard that most of the time I just stay anonymous. Below are 10 REAL comments that I have heard first hand when trying to “come out” as Autistic.
Maybe if Autistic people stop getting comments like the ones below more Autistic people would come out of the closet.

  1. You don’t look Autistic.
  2. Autism is just a result of bad parenting.
  3. You just need to learn to grow up.
  4. There is nothing wrong with you.
  5. If you tried harder you could over come your struggles.
  6. You just want attention.
  7. You are just delayed.
  8. Everyone has a little Autism.
  9. You must be high functioning.
  10. Autism is just a different way of thinking. Its not really a disability.

via 10 Things NOT to Say When Someone Comes Out as Autistic — Anonymously Autistic

vadess40’s Comments:

  1. First rule I have in life: Looks don’t matter
  2. heard of that one online, not directly to my face
  3. Pot tells kettle to learn to grow up
  4. This one I have heard from within the autism community: People insist there is nothing wrong with them.
  5. The people who say this… Have they worked hard and overcome their struggles?
  6. Who doesn’t want attention these days?
  7. Delayed how?? Delayed is a verb, not a noun or adjective. Here is its definition: ”
    make (someone or something) late or slow.” To delay a flight is to decide a flight will leave later than originally planned.  Saying a person is “just delayed”… As in they’re late for supper? They were slowed down because of traffic?
  8. Hmmm… On the one hand, that is demeaning. On the other hand, autism is a long list of traits. Not a stretch to say some people have a trait here and there.
  9. Says who?
  10. Like #4, this one comes from the autism community. In truth, I am on the fence as to whether I think autism is a disability or not. I think autism gives me many advantages, and many more disadvantages, in life. I suppose it makes me who I am, and I wouldn’t be the same without it. Does such thinking mean I don’t think it’s a disability? Hmmm…

vadess40 stops typing and goes to think about this turn of events.

Leave a Reply

