NaNoWriMo: I WON! WOOT WOOT!!!

50151 Words! Phew…  quite the writing!  And Furrows’ story is far from over!

That’s okay. I don’t mind a longer challenge. The average length of a novel is actually 80k, so it makes sense the story still isn’t done. I won’t quit now, and I won’t let NaNoWriMo end today at midnight. I will keep writing. Keep marching…

My novel has turned into a court case appearing in Canada. Instead of heroes and villains, we have witnesses, an accused, and the people that make a trial happen!

2016-11-29.png

 

An Excerpt:

Dear Father…

I have not spoken to you in a while. Was just wondering how you’ve been. How you have been? How life is as the God of the Universe? Is how Jesus and the Spirit? Do you remember me? Do you still know my name? Did you erase it from existence?

I could understand if you did. I would erase my name if I had not talken to myself in a while. I would not remember my own laugh, my own thoughts, and my own desires if I ceased speaking with myself. It is quite the thing… to not speak to one’s own Creator. It is quite the thing to ask how He is after all these years, and from a jail cell.

Not since… not since the day I decided not to give into Ottawa. Yes, I have not spoken to you since then. Why? Why have I stopped?

What is NaNoWriMo?

For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. The challenge for people all over the world is to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Why? Here is the answer according to NaNoWriMo’s Website:

National Novel Writing Month believes in the transformational power of creativity. We provide the structure, community, and encouragement to help people find their voices, achieve creative goals, and build new worlds—on and off the page.

Large project, right?  Yet, many have done it and have moved on through NaNoWriMo to become professional authors. Furthermore, it builds good writing habits into people who normally wouldn’t take on such a daunting task!

I did it last year and I was able to write the background story of my main character in Star Wars: The Old Republic. Oh yes, fanfiction counts as a NaNoWriMo project. Some people use this challenge to write original works, tonnes use it to write fanfics, and many other different writing projects in between. Some people keep the work to themselves, like the fanfic I wrote, and others are able to become published authors. No real rules beyond challenge oneself to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days :D.

Leave a Reply

